## Minutes (approved at Globecom 2002, Taipei)

# IEEE Communications Society Satellite and Space Communications (SSC) Technical Committee

Meeting at ICC2002, New York City, NY Tuesday 30 April 2002, 7:00am – 8:30am NY Marriott Marquis, Wilder Room

#### 1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 7:25am. 19 people were in attendance at this time (23 by the end of the meeting).

## 2. Acceptance of Agenda

The agenda was presented and accepted.

# 3. Acceptance of Minutes of the Last Meeting

The minutes of the last meeting held at GLOBECOM 2001 (San Antonio) were presented and accepted.

# 4. Conference Reports

(1) ICC 2002 (New York): Iwao Sasase and Takaya Yamazato

Iwao reported that this was the third time we have had a Symposium at ICC/Globecom. We have 5 sessions here at ICC02, Iwao negotiated an extra session due to the quality of the submitted papers.

Takaya reported that two sessions were workshop type using reviewed invited papers, organized by Mario and Takaya, there was a discussion panel at end of the second session. In the future we should make sure the panel is identified in the program.

## (2) GLOBECOM 2002 (Taipei): Guy Omidyar (not present).

The paper acceptance ratio is 31%. There were enough submissions for 61 symposia parallel sessions and 3 general parallel sessions (64 parallel sessions total) but only rooms available for 20 parallel sessions (20/64 = 31%).

(3) ICSSC 2002 (Montreal), ICSSC 2003 (Yokohama) and ICSSC 2004 (Monterey, CA): Ron Smith Ron reported that the AIAA International Communications Satellite Systems Conference (ICSSC) is officially a ComSoc Technical Cosponsor event with SSC endorsement for 2002 and 2003. SSC will also endorse cosponsorship in 2004. This is a high quality technical conference focussed on Satcom topics. The permanent website is at <www.aiaa-icssc.org>. ICSSC 2002 will be held in Montreal, Canada, 12-15 May 2002. ICSSC 2003 will be in Yokohama, Japan, 15-19 April 2003 and the abstract submission deadline is 9 Sept. 2002. ICSSC 2004 will be held in Monterey, California, 9-12 May 2004. The 2005 conference will be located in Europe. Anyone interested in helping with conference organization or chairing sessions at any of these conferences may contact Ron at <ron.p.smith@trw.com>.

#### (4) ICC 2003 (Anchorage): Satchandi Verma and Reza Soleymani

The TPC meeting was yesterday. There will be 8 symposia, with one on satellite and wireless. It will follow the usual conference structure with tutorials on the first and last days and three days of technical sessions. Paper acceptance is planned for the top scoring 33% accepted automatically and the next 33% discussed at Globecom 2002.

(5) **GLOBECOM 2003** (San Francisco): Sastri Kota, Mario Marchese, Abbas Jamalipour The meeting is today, Reza will attend for SSC.

#### (6) Other conferences sponsored by SSC

- A. The ICC 2004 meeting is today, Reza will attend for SSC.
- B. **EMPS 2002**, 5th Euro Workshop on Mobile / Personal Satcom (held every 2 years). Enrico Del Re circulated the call for papers.
- C. It was suggested that we expand the SSC website to include a list of all known Satcom conferences and workshops. SSC members please send e-mail to our secretary to help keep our list current.
- D. Marina Ruggieri reported that **WPMC 2002** (Wireless Personal Multimedia Communications) will be held 27-30 Oct. 2002 in Hawaii. They plan to set up a panel on Satcom. Marina will send details to our secretary.

### 5. SSC New Officer Selection Committee: Iwao Sasase

The Nomination Committee consisted of Des Taylor, Walter Ceisluck, Satchandi Verma and Iwao Sasase. They have nominated Ron Smith for Chair, Abbas Jamalipour for Vice-Chair and Mario Marchese for Secretary. SSC members at this meeting accepted these nominations by acclamation and they will take office at Globecom 2002.

Ron wishes to thank Iwao Sasase for his dedication and leadership as the SSC Chair.

## 6. SSC Newsletter, Web, Email list, and membership status: Abbas Jamalipour (not present)

Iwao described the SSC website <www.comsoc.org/~ssc> and newsletter. He encouraged members to be involved in paper reviews. Mario requested submissions of short articles for our newsletter.

#### 7. New and Old Business: Iwao Sasase

#### (1) SSC Long Term Planning and Budget

ComSoc provides a small budget to SSC each year. One activity that we have decided to pursue with these funds is an SSC TC Award. The Distinguished Contributions To Satellite Communications Award is an official IEEE ComSoc Award to promote satcom R&D. Details of the award are in the latest newsletter and at the SSC web site. SSC members are encouraged to make nominations.

### (2) Strengthening Ties with other Committees

Please send an e-mail to our secretary if you are involved in other committees and would like to serve as our liaison.

Marina Ruggieri is an Aerospace Society member and an editor of Satellite Systems in their Transactions journal. She will be our liaison to that organization.

Harold Skinnemoen is active in several standards committees and will act as our liaison.

#### 8. Any Other Business

William Wu stated that Washington DC is still a center of Satcom activity. As IEEE ComSoc Washington DC Chapter Chair, he invites all SSC members to contact him and participate in their activities while visiting the area.

## 9. Time and Place of Next Meeting

GLOBECOM 2002, Taipei, Taiwan. Time/date: tentatively, the morning of the second day of technical sessions.

## **10. Adjourn** – The meeting was adjourned at 8:20 am.

## Attendance (23 total)

Attenuance (25 total)		
<u>Name</u>	<u>E-mail</u>	<u>Affiliation</u>
Ron P. Smith	ron.p.smith@trw.com	TRW Space & Electronics
Reza Soleymani	msoleyma@ece.concordia.ca	Concordia Univ.
Glen R. Gervin	glen.gervin @gd-ais.com	General Dynamics
Takaya Yamazato	yamazato@nuee.nagoya-u.ac.jp	Nagoya Univ.
Tommaso Pecorella	tommaso.pecorella@cnit.it	CNIT. Univ. Florence
David Grace	dg@ohm.york.ac.uk	Univ. of York/Skylarc Tech. Ltd
Tim Tozer	tct@ohm.york.ac.uk	Univ. of York, UK
Erling Kristiansen	erling.kristiansen@esa.int	European Space Agency
Enrico Del Re	delre@det.unifi.it	Univ. of Florence
Markus Werner	markus.werner@dlr.de	DLR
William W. Wu	www@atmco.org	Advanced Tech. Mechanization
Saeid Taheri	saeid@eece.unm.edu	Univ. of New Mexico
Iwao Sasase	sasase@ics.keio.ac.jp	Keio Univ.
Julio Duran	jduran@newskies.com	Newskies Satellite
Marina Ruggieri	ruggieri@uniroma2.it	Univ. Roma
Laura Pierucci	pierucci@det.unifi.it	Univ. of Florence
Mario Marchese	mario.marchese@cnit.it	CNIT – Univ. of Genoa, Italy
Romano Fantacci	fantacci@lenst.det.unifi.it	Univ. of Florence
Harold Skinnemoen	harald.skinnemoen@nera.no	Nera, Norway
Des Taylor	taylor@elec.canterbury.ac.nz	Univ. of Canterbury
Michael Hadjitheodosiou	michalis@isr.umd.edu	Univ. of Maryland, College Park
Martin Tomlinson	mtomlinson@plymouth.ac.uk	Univ. of Plymouth, UK
Yuming Jiang	jiangym@cwc.nus.edu.sg	Inst. for Comm Research, Singapo

Inst. for Comm Research, Singapore